Parks & Recreation - 2019

Parks & Recreation Committee Audio Vault

2019 Parks & Recreation Committee Members

2019 Members 

Kara Hahn - Chair | William J. Lindsay III - Vice Chair

Kevin J. McCaffrey - Susan A. Berland - Robert Trotta

All meetings are held on Wednesdays at 12:30 PM at the Suffolk County Legislature, William H. Rogers Building, 725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Smithtown, NY unless otherwise noted below.

2019 Meeting Dates

  • 02/06/2019
  • 02/27/2019 (Riverhead)
  • 03/20/2019
  • 04/03/2019
  • 05/08/2019
  • 05/15/2019 (Wednesday @ 2:30 PM - Capital Budget Only)
  • 05/29/2019
  • 06/12/2019 (Riverhead)
  • 07/10/2019
  • 08/28/2019
  • 09/25/2019
  • 10/16/2019 (Wednesday @ 2:30 PM - Operating Budget Only)
  • 11/20/2019
  • 12/11/2019


This Committee shall have jurisdiction over the County Department of Parks, Recreation, and Conservation; the Vanderbilt Museum, including its appointments and finances; management of County parks; management of County golf courses; and the Board of Trustees of Parks, Recreation, and Conservation.

This Committee shall have jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to or affecting the coordination, oversight, or expediting of sports-oriented projects such as; golf course initiatives; municipal recreational programs; hunting; fishing; outdoor recreational activities; and similar projects or programs.  It shall also interact with Federal, State, or local officials, representatives of the private sector, schools, clubs, colleges, sportsmen, fishermen, hunters, community organizations and interested individuals to promote such activities.

This Committee shall have jurisdiction over all programs, policies, funding matters, initiatives, and/or legislation affecting or pertaining to such activities.

This Committee shall have jurisdiction over the naming of County parks.

This Committee shall also consider and vote on any appointment to a board, commission, department, agency, authority, task force, or comparable entity under the jurisdiction of this Committee.