Health - 2019

Health Committee Audio Vault

2019 Health Committee Members

2019 Members 

William Spencer - Chair | Bridget Fleming - Vice Chair

Rudy A. Sunderman -  Leslie Kennedy - Robert Calarco

All meetings are held on Thursdays at 2:00 PM at the Suffolk County Legislature, William H. Rogers Building, 725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Smithtown, NY unless otherwise noted below.
2019 Meeting Dates
(Thursday @ 2:30 PM - Capital Budget Only)
(Tuesday @ 3:30 PM - Operating Budget Only)


This Committee shall have jurisdiction over all matters and legislation pertaining to or affecting the County Department of Health Services; Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services Division; WIC Programs; infant mortality; disease control; public health; AIDS and AIDS prevention services; breast cancer issues; managed care; mental health services; patient care; emergency medical services and the Emergency Medical Services Division; pre-natal care; handicapped children’s programs; handicapped services; the County’s anti-smoking laws; the implementation and enforcement of the County’s plastic bag law; the enforcement of the County Sanitary Code and of health related regulatory laws; and the implementation of health related websites.

This Committee shall also consider and vote on any appointment to a board, commission, department, agency, authority, task force, or comparable entity under the jurisdiction of this Committee.