Economic Development, Planning & Housing - 2020

Economic Development, Planning & Housing Video Vault


2020 Members 

Kara Hahn - Chair | Susan A. Berland - Vice Chair

Samuel Gonzalez - Kevin J. McCaffrey - Jason Richberg - Robert Trotta

All meetings are held on Wednesdays at 12:30 PM at the Suffolk County Legislature, William H. Rogers Building, 725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Smithtown, NY unless otherwise noted below.

2020 Meeting Dates

  • 02/05/2020
  • 02/26/2020 (Riverhead)
  • 03/11/2020
  • 04/22/2020
  • 05/13/2020
  • 06/03/2020
  • 06/17/2020
  • 07/15/2020
  • 09/02/2020 (Riverhead)
  • 09/30/2020 (Riverhead)
  • 10/14/2020 (Wednesday @ 12:00 PM Joint Capital and Operating Budget)
  • 11/13/2020 (Friday)
  • 11/18/2020
  • 12/09/2020


This Committee has jurisdiction and oversight over all programs, policies, funds, grants, and initiatives dealing with the stimulus, growth, management, revitalization, or development of the Long Island economy, as well as Suffolk County’s Downtown Revitalization Program, the Suffolk County Landbank Program and cultural affairs issues.

This Committee shall also have jurisdiction over leases and management of the Suffolk County Francis S. Gabreski Airport.

This Committee shall also have jurisdiction over local development corporations.

This Committee shall have oversight of the economic development programs and initiatives of the Department of Economic Development and Planning, including the County’s tourism promotion program.

This Committee shall oversee implementation of smart growth plans, initiatives and legislation; oversee the Planning Division and the County Planning Commission.

This Committee shall have jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to the County workforce and affordable housing, including but not limited to any § 72-h real estate transactions for affordable housing purposes as well as the oversight of the TDR implementation plan for workforce housing.

This Committee shall also consider and vote on any appointment to a board, commission, department, agency, authority, task force, or comparable entity under the jurisdiction of this Committee.