Public Safety - 2020

Public Safety Committee Video Vault


2020 Members 

Tom Donnelly - Chair | Bridget Fleming - Vice Chair

Susan A. Berland - Steven Flotteron - Samuel Gonzalez -
Kara Hahn - Leslie Kennedy - William Spencer - Rudy A. Sunderman

All meetings are held on Thursdays at 9:30 AM at the Suffolk County Legislature, William H. Rogers Building, 725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Smithtown, NY unless otherwise noted below.

2020 Meeting Dates

  • 02/06/2020
  • 02/27/2020 (Riverhead)
  • 03/12/2020
  • 04/23/2020
  • 05/14/2020
  • 06/04/2020
  • 06/18/2020
  • 07/16/2020
  • 09/03/2020 (Riverhead)
  • 10/01/2020 (Riverhead)
  • 10/15/2020 (Thursday @ 9:30 AM - Joint Operating and Capital Budget)
  • 11/12/2020
  • 11/19/2020
  • 12/10/2020


This Committee shall have jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to the Suffolk County Police Department; the Office of the Medical Examiner; the County Sheriff’s Department; the day-to-day operation of the County Correctional Facilities; the Probation Department; Auxiliary Police; the County Police District; the District Attorney’s Office; “Crack House” legislation; Forfeiture and Seizure Laws; the Alarm Permitting Program; and all law-enforcement related business or activities.

This Committee shall have jurisdiction over legislation and matters pertaining to or affecting domestic violence programs; victims of family violence or abuse; and orders of protection.

This Committee shall also consider and vote on any appointment to a board, commission, department, agency, authority, task force, or comparable entity under the jurisdiction of this Committee.