Public Safety - 2024

Legislator Flotteron - Chair | Legislator Mazzarella - Vice Chair

Legislator Bontempi - Legislator Donnelly - Legislator Englebright - Legislator Gonzalez - Legislator Kennedy - Legislator Lennon


This Committee shall have jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to the Suffolk County Police Department; the Office of the Medical Examiner; the County Sheriff’s Department; the day-to-day operation of the County Correctional Facilities; the Probation Department; Auxiliary Police; the County Police District; the District Attorney’s Office; “Crack House” legislation; Forfeiture and Seizure Laws; the Alarm Permitting Program; and all law-enforcement related business or activities.

This Committee shall have jurisdiction over legislation and matters pertaining to or affecting domestic violence programs; victims of family violence or abuse; and orders of protection.

This Committee shall also consider and vote on any appointment to a board, commission, department, agency, authority, task force, or comparable entity under the jurisdiction of this Committee.