Environment, Planning & Agriculture Committee - 2017


This Committee shall monitor and oversee the land acquisition, farmland, and water quality components of the County’s land preservation programs; oversee all legislation relating to the 477 Fund; oversee agricultural matters; oversee the Open Space Land Acquisition Program; oversee farmland preservation; oversee aquaculture programs; oversee all environmentally sensitive land acquisitions; oversee the implementation of the County’s transfer of development rights (TDR) program, except for TDRs relating to workforce housing; oversee implementation of Smart Growth plans, initiatives, and legislation; and oversee the Planning Division and County Planning Commission.


This Committee shall also have jurisdiction over all legislation involving or affecting the:

  • Protection and/or preservation of air, water, and land resources located within the County of Suffolk; the Suffolk County Water Authority
  • Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ)
  • Review and consider all legislation affecting solid waste disposal, liquid waste disposal, toxic waste disposal, resource recovery, and recycling programs
  • Review and consider all legislation affecting existing or proposed environmental laws at the federal, state, or local level, including, but not limited to, the pesticide ban, residential well-water testing requirements, brown tide laws, composting, air quality standards, and general recycling laws
  • Review and consider all proposed SEQRA determinations
  • Oversee hazardous and toxic waste remediation initiatives
  • Review and consider all legislation affecting air and water pollution control
  • Oversee the Cornell Cooperative Extension and the Division of Environmental Services in the County Department of Health Services


This Committee shall also consider and vote on any appointment to a board, commission, department, agency, authority, task force, or comparable entity under the jurisdiction of this Committee as well as any outside consultant which may be authorized by this Committee.