Legislative District 12 Map


The 12th Suffolk County Legislative District (LD) is located in the western-central portion of Suffolk County encompassing the southern section of the Town of Smithtown, the northeastern section of Islip and western Brookhaven. The district includes Smithtown, Nesconset, Hauppauge, the Village of the Branch, Lake Grove and parts of Commack, Islandia and Ronkonkoma. The district is bounded roughly by Route 25 to the North, Larkfield Road to the West, the Long Island Expressway to the South, and Hawkins Avenue to the East with Veteran's Memorial Highway running through the heart of the district northwest to southeast. 

Elections / Voters

It consists of 64 election districts (EDs) with 49,617 registered voters and approximately 24,000 residential homes. The 12th LD has 41 EDs in Smithtown, 15 EDs in Brookhaven, and 8 EDs in Islip. 


The LD is generally upper middle class with 70% of incomes over $45,000. In general the district is young with 88% of registered voters under 65 years old. Residents of the 12th LD are well educated with 90% of the adult population finishing high school and 33% with bachelor's degrees.