1. Robert Calarco

    Presiding Officer - Legislator Robert Calarco

    Rob Calarco has represented the 7th Legislative District, which stretches from Blue Point and Patchogue to Medford and Gordon Heights, since taking office in 2012 and has defined himself as an energetic leader who will deliver solutions to the communities he serves. He was elected Presiding Officer in 2020 after serving for years as the Majority Leader and Deputy Presiding Officer. Under his leadership, the Legislature’s Budget & Finance Committee convened a working group to review Suffolk County’s spending on outside contract agencies and make recommendations on improving the contracting process. He has delivered a number of victories including legislation to hold pharmaceutical companies accountable for the over-prescription of opiate drugs, passing campaign finance reform, promoting an open and transparent government with initiatives like the Open Data Portal and increased oversight of the county’s asset forfeiture fund, and passing consecutive balanced budgets without raising General Fund property taxes. 
    Kara Hahn

    Deputy Presiding Officer - Legislator Kara Hahn

    Susan A. Berland, Esq.

    Majority Leader - Legislator Susan A. Berland

    Legislator Berland represents the 16th Legislative District, which encompasses portions of the Towns of Babylon, Huntington and Islip. She is the Chairwoman of the Veterans & Consumer Affairs Committee and Vice-Chairwoman of the Economic Development, Planning & Housing and Ways & Means Committees. Susan has distinguished herself as an effective advocate for Suffolk County residents. She pioneered a revolutionary law requiring affordable housing units in perpetuity, introduced and championed legislation requiring water and amusement parks report criminal offenses directly to law enforcement, established a free County sunscreen dispenser program and developed the “Know the Difference” asthma education campaign. Prior to being elected to the Suffolk County Legislature, Susan served as a member of the Huntington Town Board from 2001 until 2017. She is a graduate of SUNY Albany and Hofstra University of Law, where she currently serves as an adjunct professor. She lives in Dix Hills with her husband and four children.
    Tom Cilmi

    Minority Leader - Legislator Tom Cilmi

    Tom Cilmi was elected in 2009 to represent and serve the residents of the 10th Legislative District, which includes portions of Islip and Brookhaven. Now serving his 6th and final term, he was selected by fellow Republicans at the beginning of 2018 to lead the GOP caucus, which now has eight members. Legislator Cilmi has been a proponent of changes to the County’s budget process, has argued against a variety of fees, has been a strong advocate for Legislative independence, and has been an outspoken leader in the fight against alcohol and substance abuse. As Minority Leader, he works to develop consensus among members on critical issues impacting the residents of Suffolk County.