News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/13/2019 11:04:49 AM to 3/13/2019 11:06:11 AM.

News Flash

DO 15 - Legis. Gregory - PR

Posted on: March 13, 2019

[ARCHIVED] Presiding Officer DuWayne Gregory Congratulates Local Eagle Scout and Arrow of Light Recipients

Cub Scout Troop 154 Arrow of Light Ceremony

Wyandanch, NY – Suffolk County Legislature Presiding Officer DuWayne Gregory was recently on hand to congratulate and present proclamations to local residents at their Eagle Scout and Arrow of Light award ceremonies.

Julian Castrillon, of Boy Scout Troop 284 in Copiague, celebrated reaching the rank of Eagle Scout at a ceremony on Friday, March 8 at Copiague Middle School. Julian’s Eagle Scout Project consisted of the planning, development, fundraising and construction of a hexagon-shaped handicapped accessible table at the Town of Babylon’s Tanner Park Senior Center in Copiague. The table is located outside the building for use by all who utilize the facility.

Eagle Scout is the highest rank in the Boy Scouts of America scouting program. With this achievement, Julian is among the small percentage of young men in the Boy Scouts of America who have reached this prestigious level. Since the inception of the Eagle Scout award in 1912, only about two percent of eligible Scouts have earned this honor.

Presiding Officer Gregory also presented proclamations to the Webelos of Cub Scout Pack 154 at their “Arrow of Light” Ceremony at Susan E. Wiley Elementary School in Copiague.

The “Arrow of Light” is the highest award that can be given to a Cub Scout and marks the final level a scout must achieve before he can make the transition into joining the Boy Scouts and soaring with the Eagle Scouts. The boys shared this special occasion with their proud families, Cub masters and other scouts who hope to “cross the bridge” themselves in the near future.


Caption for Photo : Presiding Officer DuWayne congratulates “Arrow of Light” award recipients from Cub Scout Pack 154 on Friday, March 8 in Copiague.
Top Row (from left): Copiague VFW Executive Officer Franco Pacheco, Suffolk County Police Officer Lee, Presiding Officer DuWayne Gregory, Brendan Cunningham (representing NYS Assemblywoman Kimberly Jean-Pierre), Town of Babylon Supervisor Rich Schaffer, Town of Babylon Deputy Supervisor Tony Martinez, and Cub Scout Pack 154 Webelos Den Leader Jake Steele.
Bottom Row (from left): Cub Scouts Tyler R. Bowman, Uzziah J. Brown, Zechariah E. Brown, Steven A. Falco, Angel E. Garcia, and Aiden L. Roman.




Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in DO 15 - Legis. Gregory - PR

seal grey (2)

Press Release Archives

Posted on: May 31, 2017